Sedona or Bust!

I started flying airplanes in 2009 and scored my private pilot certification on October 16, 2011. The day I hopped into my trainer, a Piper Warrior for the very first time, little did I know that my life was about to change forever.

I met my soon to be husband Randy, also a pilot, at the Hastings/Barry County Airport, where I did my training.  I remember thinking  Randy had one of the coolest airplanes on the field, a 1946 Navion, with the same red, white and blue paint scheme as the famed P-51 Reno racer, Miss America. I was fortunate enough to be invited for a ride one day and – well – to make a very long story short – the rest is history!

I soon earned my complex/high performance endorsements in the Navion, so I could share in the piloting. Randy and I have since shared many exciting aviation adventures in the Navion. We affectionately call her our “magic carpet”.

This past Valentine’s Day weekend, Randy proposed to me and I said yes! In the true spirit of aviators, we decided to forego traditions. Instead we will fly off into the sunset to share an adventure of a lifetime. We plan to depart Hastings on July 10, 2016 and fly to Illinois, where we will intercept Route 66. We will then follow Route 66 from the air, making several stops along the way.  We will eventually end up in beautiful Sedona, AZ.

We plan to be married on July 18, at the Sedona airport, on the ramp with the stunning red rocks of Sedona as our backdrop. Miss America Too will be our “maid of honor”, parked beside us during the ceremony. It will just be the two of us accompanied by Reverend Carla Riedel, our officiant,  photographer, Pamela Duffy and Sedona Airport Manager, Amanda Shankland, who will serve as one of our witnesses.

I started this blog in most part, to capture our adventure and preserve the memories we make along the way. I plan to provide daily updates, including photos and details of each stop along the way. We have many amazing activities scheduled during our journey and I look forward to sharing it all! Although, I may make a few posts beforehand, providing updates to our preparations, etc., our actual journey is scheduled to begin on July 10, 2016, with our departure from 9D9 (Hastings). Stay tuned!

IMG_0900
Randy and I right after he popped the question!
IMG_8275
Miss America Too – Our Magic Carpet!
2 thoughts on “Sedona or Bust!

Leave a Reply

